JusticeDept.com

June 23, 2009

Update for Microsoft Outlook Phishing Scams

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , , , — @ 1:15 pm

A massive phishing scam similar to the recent bank fraud scams is being sent in emails that look like the following:

From: “Microsoft Customer Support”
Subject: Update for Microsoft Outlook

Critical Update

Update for Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express (KB910721)

Brief Description

Microsoft has released an update for Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express. This update is critical and provides you with the latest version of the Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express and offers the highest levels of stability and security.

Instructions

* To install Update for Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express (KB910721) please visit Microsoft Update Center:
http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftofficeupdate/isapdl/default.aspx?ln=en-us&id=860973044736591820463007000000

Quick Details

* File Name: officexp-KB910721-FullFile-ENU.exe
* Version: 1.4
* Date Published: Tue, 23 Jun 2009 07:21:24 -0400
* Language: English
* File Size: 81 KB

System Requirements

* Supported Operating Systems: Windows 2000; Windows 98; Windows ME; Windows NT; Windows Server 2003; Windows XP; Windows Vista
* This update applies to the following product: Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express
Contact Us
© 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Contact Us |Terms of Use |Trademarks |Privacy Statement


The above URL is not the actual link. Hidden in the HTML code it the domain name that the link really take you to –
http://update.microsoft.com.ilfl1i1.net/microsoftofficeupdate/isapdl/default.aspx?ln=en-us&id=860973044736591820463007003404087″>http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftofficeupdate/isapdl/default.aspx?ln=en-us&id=86097304473659182046300700340000

If you get one of these emails, you should safely clear it from your computer and under no circumstance visit the website. In fact, if you are using a Microsoft based computer and / or email program, you should not open the email.

June 19, 2009

Phishing Scams: Chase, Bank of America, Sun Trust

Alert — There is a massive new bank fraud phishing scam being conducted via email. The website address that appears in the body of the email looks valid; however, if you view the source, you will see a bogus domain name. Clicking on the link will take you to an unauthorized website. Should you receive one of these emails, DO NOT reveal your private information.

Examples:

Subject: SunTrust Bank reminder: notification Tue, 16 Jun 2009 10:06:37 -0300

Reference Number: 20091919664020

Online Treasury Manager Confirmation Form.

Dear Customer,

As part of the new security measures, all SunTrust Online Treasury Manager users are required to complete Online Treasury Manager Confirmation Form. Please complete the form as soon as possible.
* To access the form please click on the following link:

http://onlinetreasurymanager.suntrust.com/ibswebsuntrust/cmserver/ccare/default/cform.cfm?id=3081079390068176417033060820680455426793542263056&email=my@emailaddress.com.

SunTrust Bank, Member FDIC. © 2009 SunTrust Banks, Inc. SunTrust is a federally registered service mark of SunTrust Banks, Inc.
Live Solid. Bank Solid. is a service mark of SunTrust Banks, Inc.

This email was sent on behalf of SunTrust Customer Care, 1575 Lemon Farris Road, Cookeville, TN 38506.


The above is a criminal attempt at bank fraud. The hidden URL actually takes you to onlinetreasurymanager.suntrust.com.hiilff.net


Subject: Chase Bank: alert – online client form released.

Note: This is a service message regarding the Chase Customer Form.

Dear customer:

As part of the new security measures, all Chase bank customers are required to complete Chase Customer Form. Please complete the form as soon as possible.

To access the form please click on the following link:

http://chaseonline.chase.com/Secure/webform/OSL.aspx?LOB=84064245071871982084785953907115353560172752347916009775207850

Thank you for being a valued customer.

Sincerely,

Chase Customer Service

Please don’t reply to this Alert.


The above is criminal attempt at bank fraud. The hidden URL actually takes you to http://chaseonline.chase.com.il1ifi.com.mx


Subject: Bank of America customer service: important message [message ref:

Message from Customer Service

We would like to inform you that we have released a new version of Bank of America Customer Form. This form is required to be completed by all Bank of America customers.

Please follow these steps:

1.Open the form at http://www.bankofamerica.com/srv_37447993/customerservice/securedirectory/cform.do/cform.php?id=438646285236118062405358479406787325837698602578055323.
2.Follow given instructions.

Because email is not a secure form of communication, please do not reply to this email.
If you have any questions about your account or need assistance, please call the phone number on your statement or go to Contact Us at www.bankofamerica.com.

Bank of America, Member FDIC.
© 2009 Bank of America Corporation. All Rights Reserved.


The above is criminal attempt at bank fraud. The hidden URL actually takes you to http://www.bankofamerica.com.srv_37447993.hflij1.net


WARNING: Do not visit the above sites! If you receive an email like these, report it to the bank’s fraud division.

Powered by WordPress